YYC Food Trucks – The Beginning

So here it is my first blog post.  I think it is only fitting that I talk about my favorite food trend, the one that got me excited and engaged in Calgary’s food scene.  Last summer, food trucks hit the streets of Calgary in a big way and the whole concept had me intrigued.  A perogy, with duck in it, off a truck?  Well this I had to try.  So I finally joined Twitter as this is the easiest way to keep track of where the trucks will be.  Then I started talking about the good food I was eating, and wow, the trucks were talking back to me.  How great was that?

So now I have a little bit of a following as the food truck girl.  I have eaten at all of the original trucks that were included in the launch last summer.  I have decided though that it would be too difficult to go back and try and remember all the things I have eaten.  Instead, I will be talking about the trucks one by one as I revisit them.  And there are a lot of new trucks to hit the street this spring and I’m looking forward to reporting on them too.  I hope you like food trucks!

YYC Food Trucks Pins

So enough set-up, let’s talk about the food.

A few weeks ago there was a food truck frenzy on the Riverwalk to celebrate the opening of the new East Village Centre.  I have been to this spot before and I think it is probably one of the best spots in the city.  Lots of trucks can park there and there are plenty of benches outside for eating.  Not to mention the river rolling right by.

YYC Food Trucks Riverwalk 2012

I decided that Saturday it was time to take my four year old son for a date.  He is familiar with Fiasco Gelato’s truck Ellie and asked to stop there first.  How could I say no?  My son is a picky eater and he always insists on “white” ice cream.  That day it was the Cara Cara Orange gelato, and he devoured it.  Me, it was my choice too but I decided to mix it with the Chocolate.  Fiasco is so consistently good and that day was no exception.  I love mixing their fruity flavours with the chocolate.  It makes the taste fresh and decadent all at the same time.

Fiasco Gelato Yum!

After the gelato we moved on to Chef Mario’s Pizza truck.  My son’s favorite food is cheese pizza so it was the Margarita for us to share.  But what was that smell while we were waiting for the pizza to cook, why it was The Noodle Bus of course.  This truck specializes in Vietnamese cuisine and even though I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat a full bowl of noodles I had to get some of the yummy smelling (and tasting) spring rolls.  So that’s what we had to eat.  And we sat in the sunshine, soaking up the rays and filling our tummies with awesome food.  It was a pretty good day.

Chef Mario Pizza and Noodle Bus Spring Rolls

So, do you want to know more about the food trucks?  I’ll be doing more in depth reviews on all the trucks in the months ahead so stay tuned for the spring menus and how they taste.

One thought on “YYC Food Trucks – The Beginning

  1. Pingback: 4th Blogiversary Giveaway – Fiasco Gelato | Heather's EATS

Leave a Reply

