Food Revolution Day and Giveaway

Tomorrow is Food Revolution Day. This event was created by Jamie Oliver and its intent is to encourage people to find a better way to eat using the resources in their community. For me this means to stop eating processed food and to shop local. This is something that we as family are trying hard to do. To learn more about the day check out the website at www.foodrevolutionday.com.

There are a few events happening throughout town. I know specifically that Café Gravity in Inglewood will be hosting a dinner to celebrate the day. In fact there will be similar events happening worldwide. When I last checked the website there are 58 countries participating. This is amazing!

Last week I got to thinking how can I make my own contribution and celebrate this day? I looked at the calendar for May 19 and the only thing I had booked was my son’s soccer game. And guess what, at the beginning of the season I signed up for snack day on May 19. That is how I would celebrate. In an effort to walk the talk of my new lifestyle I knew what I had to do. Instead of buying prepackaged cookies and what not for the kids I wanted to make something to fill their tummy’s and make them smile at the same time. So that’s what I did.

I tried to think about what I would do and I finally decided on making muffins. We bought Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptively Delicious cookbook for kids but had yet to make anything from it. This was my chance, after ruling out the evil Peanut Butter and Jelly muffins due to allergies, I settled on the Chocolate Chip Muffins.

I went through my cupboards and realized I was low on some baking supplies so off to market we went. I took my son with me and we had a great time at Casel Market 17 getting what we needed. While we there we found organic juice boxes so we picked those up because little soccer players need hydration.

I didn’t quite get all the supplies I needed so a little later in the afternoon I headed off to Kingsland Farmer’s Market to round out my purchases. While I was there I picked up some green grapes to round out the snack. Now I needed to head home to make muffins and prep.

Image

It’s been a long time since I have made a new recipe, let alone from a cookbook I have never tried before. I was pretty impressed that everything turned out exactly as the book said. The end result was tasty and my boys (son and husband) liked them so I’m sure the kids will too. The last thing I needed to do was to prep the grapes and pack everything up.

Image

Image

Image

So now I’m ready for Food Revolution Day. I am so glad that I took the time to do what I did today. The other parents will probably think I’m crazy but I feel good about what I did.

So here is the giveaway part of the post. The generous people at Medium Rare Chef donated the medium ladies t-shirt below for me to giveaway to one of my readers. If you would like to win this t-shirt, let me know in my comments section how you are going to celebrate Food Revolution Day or what you are doing to contribute to your local food scene.

Image

Have a great May 19 and if you are interested I’ll post how everything went with the kids.

UPDATE: The muffins were a hit! The kids and parents both loved them. That makes me smile. Now to enjoy the rest of Food Revolution Day.

5 thoughts on “Food Revolution Day and Giveaway

  1. The muffins look great and I hope you get a great response tomorrow! I am going to tweet your article because I have been looking for Calgary events in honor of Food Revolution Day with no success. The Food Rev site has no Alberta event listed and the Food Bloggers of Canada didn’t know of any events here either. So, all that to say, I was happy to see you blogging about your participation and the dinner at Cafe Gravity. My family will be heading out to the farmer’s market tomorrow!

  2. I tweeted your blog today, too. I’m not a medium, though so no t-shirt for me! I’m not sure what we’ll do tomorrow… We try to eat fresh, unprocessed food as much as possible around here. As you know, living in Calgary makes the “local” part difficult at times but we try for some of that too. I’m glad to see our supermarkets are even getting more interested in the “buy local” concept. Do you know that if we have a fuel crisis, our food supply will begin to deplete within three days? Some items will become nearly impossible to find that quickly. It’s shocking. But, that’s how much of our food is shipped, trucked, moved, and otherwise imported in… That’s some food for thought.

Leave a Reply

