It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Wow, it’s been a long time since I have posted anything.   There has been a lot going on and I have many things I want to write about but I must pick only one.  I have decided that I will talk about my favorite food topic, food trucks of course.  It’s getting warmer and those trucks are rolling out to feed the masses.  With all the new trucks on Calgary’s streets it is the perfect time to get out there and test some new food.

A couple of weeks ago I was taking a break from Project 40 for 40 to indulge in some good eats.  On one of those sunny days I headed down to Marda Loop for a food truck lunch.  The day I went Blamwich was there and just down the road was the new SnoBerry Ice Truck.  I was pretty excited to try the new truck but equally excited to visit my old friends at Blamwich as I hadn’t seen them, or their new truck Bruce, since their winter break.

Margie and crew at Blamwich are well known for their Bacon Storm sandwich and I think it is probably one of the best sandwiches you can get in town.  Unfortunately for me I cannot eat that much bacon so I usually go for something else.  And this is ok because everything on their menu is excellent so you can’t go wrong.  I decided on the Speedy Gonzales with a side of Margie’s Tomato Salad. 

What is in that stuff?  The sandwich had a black bean patty topped with pico de gallo, melted cheddar and my favorite, their chipotle mayo.  As with all of their vegetarian sandwiches you can make this a “hypocrite” by adding a slice of bacon although I chose not to.  The salad was made with cherry tomatoes and roasted garlic then mixed with grated zucchini and red onions.

As always, I loved my meal from Blamwich.  The salad was a nice change from the normal fries and I appreciate that Margie is serving up some healthier options.  In fact she is now offering some of her sandwiches on a bed of a lettuce instead of in a bun.  The Speedy Gonzales is new on their menu and I was excited to try it.  I loved the flavor, it had a nice spice to it but I think the best thing about it was while I was eating this I had a good food vibe.  This is going to sound weird but the combination of flavours made me feel motivated, gave me some warmth and made me feel better about myself.  All I could think of was Andale Andale Arriba Arriba and indeed I felt this way.  Eat the Speedy Gonzales folks.

If you are going to visit Blamwich I have two pieces of advice for you.  First, bring cash as they are not set-up on an electronic system.  Second, bring a soda if you want one, usually there is only bottled water on board.  But you’re not going for drinks anyway, you just want the food.

You can find Blamwich on twitter at @blamwich and their great website at www.blamwich.ca.

Now that was in my tummy it was urging me to get going on to the next truck, Snoberry Ice.  This is a great concept. You first choose a flavour of shaved ice, then you choose your toppings and last you can add a sizzle.  So now what is in this?  The day I was at the truck they had three flavours of ice to choose from, regular, strawberry and mango.  Then I had to choose some toppings, and there are lots.  You can get freshly chopped fruit, candy, sprinkles or even nuts.  I had a hard time making up my mind.  The last part is the sizzle, and the best way to describe this?  The drizzle is the sizzle.

So what did I get?  Regular (vanilla) shaved ice, with strawberry’s and M & M’s topped off with the sizzle of course.

You can find Snoberry Ice on Twitter at @SnoBerryIce.

What a great lunch.  Get out and enjoy the sun and eat at some food trucks, tis the season.  It’s the most wonderful time of the year.

Leave a Reply

