Summertime is Here

I love the change of seasons; each one has a something that I look forward to, even winter.  But I am glad when the snow melts, and well, in Calgary the summer comes.  All kidding aside, among my many favorite things about summer is the variety of fresh fruit that is available.  When I was a kid I couldn’t wait for this because I was sick of the dreary apple or orange that was in my lunch.  What a treat when the weather was warmer and a plum, or even some juicy cherries turned up in that brown lunch bag.

A few years ago I discovered Rainier Cherries and I fell in love.  Whenever I see them I must buy and eat immediately.  This happened this week when I was doing my almost daily walk through Sunterra Keynote. I find that the Rainiers aren’t quite as sweet as the normal cherry and not as messy either.  Because the flesh is lighter I don’t have to worry about the juice staining.  Over all they just make me smile and I could eat them all day, what a healthy way to nibble.

Now that is out of the way, I wanted to ask you all what you are up to for Canada Day?  If you are looking for something to do here in Calgary you might want to check out the City of Calgary app in the Itunes store under Canada Dayyc.

There are many exciting things that are happening but the thing I am most excited about is the event happening at Olympic Plaza.  Starting at noon and going to 6pm is Calgary Eats!  I think our family is going to go for lunch and try one of the many food trucks that will be there.  Those who know me know I will never turn away a food truck.  Then I’ll let my son get his hands dirty while learning about planting a garden.  And to finish off, we’ll walk through the Farmer’s Market and put a family picnic together for dinner and find a nice park to enjoy it.

If you don’t have access to the Itunes app store, click on the link below and it will take you directly to the City of Calgary site,

The City of Calgary – Canada Day celebrations in Calgary.

Welcome summer, I’m excited to spend some time with you.  And Happy Canada Day to all of you.

Leave a Reply

