Calgary is Awesome – Day 3

It’s day 3 of 10 and I am talking about why I think Calgary is awesome.  Today I would like to talk about the many parks that can be found in the city.

I have been blessed because I think in my entire time living in Calgary I have been within walking distance of a park.  In fact some of my earliest memories are of walking with my Grandpa in North Glenmore Park.  We walked there in the sun and the snow.  Here I was, two or three and trying to avoid the gopher holes bundled up in a snowsuit.  And I loved it!

I grew up in that part of the city so I saw a lot of “Glenmore” park.  We spent many days as kids playing in the playgrounds, flying kites and having impromptu picnics.  As I got older we had parties down by the old fire pit and skated on the reservoir in the middle of winter.

When I finally moved out of my parent’s house to downtown I spent many hours on Prince’s Island.  One of my favorite walks is still from Eau Claire to the Calgary Zoo and back.  It is even nicer now that they have built up the River Walk and the Peace Bridge is complete.  I think it is amazing that minutes away from the hustle and bustle of downtown there is this oasis.

And now I am married, have a kid of my own and we have Fish Creek Park pretty much in our backyard.  I love that place.  As a family we can go down there on the weekend, pack some snacks and feel like we have left the city for an afternoon.  I also can get a quick evening walk in after my son goes to bed and feel some peace.  In these days where everything seems to go way too fast it is nice to slow down and take a breath.  And that is another reason why I think Calgary is awesome.

If you want to hear someone else’s take on this topic check out the blog post that inspired me to write this series.

http://calgaryisawesome.com/2012/07/03/in-your-words-yyc-a-calgary-top-10/

And if you want to know more about the City of Calgary parks and bike path system, check out this link.

The City of Calgary – Parks – yours to enjoy!.

 

Leave a Reply

