Calgary is Awesome – Day 6

This subject line pops into my e-mail inbox every month, “Your wine is on its way”.  Who wouldn’t love that!

It’s day 6 of 10 and I think it’s way past time to talk about Winecollective.ca.  Last year there was a Groupon coupon that came out for half off wine.  Of course I had to check it out.  Winecollective.ca is a wine club of sorts and the coupon was for half off the first month’s subscription.  I did some more research and I decided I had to join.

So how it works is that you go to Winecollective.ca and sign up for one of their monthly packages and pay the fee.  They will then send, in my case, two bottles of wine to my house every month.  It’s the best kind of package a girl could ever get.  In the box with the wine are information cards that detail the story of the wine, observations on colour and taste, ending with a recommendation of what kind of meal to pair the wine with.

Some people may scoff at this but for someone like me this is perfect.  I do not have a lot of time to spend going to wine club events to learn about wine.  To be perfectly honest, before this, going into a wine store was overwhelming to me.  Sure I wanted wine, but what to get, where from, what grape, do I have to ask someone, and above all I don’t want to look like an idiot!

Winecolletive.ca has allowed me to learn more about wine in the privacy of my own home and has opened me up to new options.  Am I an expert on wine now, no.  Can I walk into a wine store and make an informed purchase, yes!

The other great thing about Winecollective.ca is that they track your wine online.  You can record your thoughts and let them know what you think.  Combined with the information cards they send with the wine, you can use both resources to track your favorites to try again.

http://winecollective.ca/

This is just another reason why Calgary is Awesome.

Ok, you’re probably sick of reading this by now but I want to give credit where credit is due.  Please read the post that inspired this whole series. It is on the Calgary is Awesome website and is written by Julie Van Rosendaal.  You can find it here.

http://calgaryisawesome.com/2012/07/03/in-your-words-yyc-a-calgary-top-10/

And if you liked this, check out Day 1 to 5 in my series for more of my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

