I’m Posting a Recipe!

I don’t cook that often and I often tell people I don’t cook, I just eat.  My Mom always told us growing up that if you can read you can cook.  Now I don’t believe that to be 100% true, you do need to have a palate and develop skills, but the theory of it has gotten me through life.

That being said, I never thought I would post a recipe on the blog but here it goes.

Recently I was in Sobey’s and picked up their free Inspired magazine.  They promote their new products in this magazine but they also have seasonal recipes to try.

In that magazine I found my new favorite summer salad.  I have made it a couple of times and altered the recipe slightly.  I even pitted and peeled my first avocado!  The biggest change I made to this recipe is that I think you should chill the salad for at least a half hour.  This gives the grapefruit a chance to absorb the juices and makes it that much tastier.

Avocado & Pink Grapefruit Salad

Ingredients

2 pink grapefruits

1 ripe avocado

1 tsp liquid honey

1 tbsp lime juice

2 tsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Salt & Pepper to taste

Finely chopped fresh cilantro

  1. Use a sharp knife to cut off tops and bottoms of grapefruits so they sit steady on cutting board, then remove peel and pith in strips from top to bottom. Slice grapefruit into disk-shaped pieces and place in a bowl. Split, pit and peel avocado, slice it lengthwise into 8 pieces and add to bowl.
  2. In a small dish, mix together honey, lime juice and olive oil and pour over fruit. Season with salt and pepper. Chill in fridge for a half hour and then transfer to a serving dish and spoon remaining juices overtop. Garnish with cilantro.

Nutritional Information – Per Serving (1/4 of the recipe)

140 calories

2 g protein

8 g total fat (1 g saturated fat)

0 mg cholesterol

15 g carbohydrates

3 g fibre

10 g sugars

290 mg sodium

Please enjoy this fresh summer salad and here is the link to the magazine’s recipe page for more ideas.

http://www.compliments.ca/en/Recipes/Easy-Recipes.aspx

3 thoughts on “I’m Posting a Recipe!

  1. Pingback: Treats of the Week – Anju and Avocados | Heather's EATS

Leave a Reply

