New York City – Burgers

New York has been on my mind a lot lately for obvious reasons.  I have been looking at the many pictures this week, as I’m sure others have, and remembering the good times I have had there.  It is difficult to see the craziness that is happening, and how hard things were hit with Sandy.  My prayers have been with the people in that area, not just my family, but also with the new friends we made on our recent trip last July.

And on that note, I keep saying that I will write one more post on New York, about burgers.  After this week I even considered not doing it at all but in honour of our good times there, and to the spirit of that city, I am going to post it anyway.  I am even going to talk about a place that has been in the news this past week.  Yes, it has been a long time but I am going to talk about burgers, to close out my three post series on our New York trip.

So I’ve talked about street food and pizza but what’s left?  Burgers, of course!  When you tell people, well foodies anyway, you are going to New York they tell you where to eat.  Inevitably there will be duplicates and that speaks to the quality of the food.  There are two places that topped our friend’s lists of must eat food.

The first place is Shake Shack.  They have a few locations in the city and because we were staying in Midtown, close to Broadway, we decided to check out the Broadway location.  I’m not going to talk a lot about it but I will say if you are walking by one you should check it out because you get to eat this!

The second place we liked so much we ate there twice!  It was our first meal of the trip and the last meal of the trip.  That’s how good it was, my husband wanted to go there twice.  It is the oddest place.  You walk into this hotel in Midtown called le Parker Meridien.  It’s beautiful, it has marble columns just past the elevators and is pretty to look at.  Just past the concierge desk there is a curtain and probably a line-up of people.  Look at the front of the line and you’ll see this.

Sorry, the quality of the photos from here on in are not great as I only had my iPhone on the trip.  It doesn’t do a very good job of capturing the darker shots.  Anyway, this is the Burger Joint.  You finally get to the door and this is what you see.

It’s a dive burger joint that serves the best burgers I have ever eaten!  You get to the front of the line and you better know what you want because if you don’t, they’ll send you right to the back.  This is what I got.

I loved this place, the atmosphere was friendly.  You will probably have to ask someone if you can share their table and everyone is ok with that.  But best of all, the food is amazing!

I love you New York!  You are in my prayers and I can’t wait to see you again some time soon.

3 thoughts on “New York City – Burgers

Leave a Reply

