April 7 – Treat of the Week – Homemade Salsa

Welcome to my very first treat of the week post. Some of you have asked me about what you will see here. Yes, there will be many indulging items but that won’t always be the case. I am inspired by many kinds of foods both healthy and not so healthy. So come along for the ride and see the foods that I am enjoying.

Now this week, to start, I am dedicating this post to my husband and his treat. Some of you know that I recently celebrated a birthday. Because of that I have eaten many things that could easily be considered for this post. But, my husband was having some friends over and he asked if I could make some salsa for him for his get together. This is one of his favorites. And then he said why don’t you write about the salsa. So here I am.

Let me tell you about this salsa. A few years ago I went to a Tupperware party in hopes of picking up some quality food storage pieces. Little did I know what I would find there. The hostess made this delicious salsa with the Tupperware Quick Chef. It was so good that I walked away with one of those Quick Chefs.

When I got home I told my husband about the salsa and he wasn’t too sure. That was until I received the Quick Chef a couple of weeks later and I made my first batch of salsa. He loved it and soon I found myself making sometimes three batches of fresh salsa every week. I didn’t mind because I love it too. The recipe is simple and not very fancy. But the taste is so fresh that you can’t stop eating the stuff!

I am going to post the recipe here but what to do if you don’t have a Tupperware Quick Chef? Well, I haven’t tried it but I am sure this would work well if you did some fine chopping or run the items through a food processor. The other thing I must tell you is that I have added only one thing to the original Tupperware recipe and that is to add some cilantro.

Enjoy!

Quick Homemade Salsa

4 green onions with stems or 1 medium onion peeled & quartered
1 clove of garlic peeled & quartered
3 medium ripe tomatoes, cored & quartered
1 tsp. ground paprika
1 tsp. each salt & sugar
1 tsp. cilantro
1 tbsp. lemon juice
1 tbsp. balsamic or wine vinegar

1. Put onion and garlic in Quick Chef bowl with blade. Turn handle until finely chopped.

2. Remove top; add tomatoes, paprika, salt, sugar, cilantro, lemon juice and balsamic vinegar. Replace top and turn several times until desired consistency is reached.

3. Serve immediately with tortilla chips. Cover and refrigerate leftover salsa and use within a day.

Yields about 1 – ½ cups salsa.

Homemade Salsa Ingredients

Tupperware Quick Chef Homemade Salsa

4 thoughts on “April 7 – Treat of the Week – Homemade Salsa

  1. Pingback: Tasty Treat Thursday – Breakfast Burritos | Heather's EATS

  2. Pingback: Evergreen Content Ideas For Food Bloggers | Food Bloggers of Canada

Leave a Reply

