May 26 – Treat of the Week – Banana Bread

Before I start in with this week’s treat I thought I would talk about where it came from. I have talked about Julie Van Rosendaal a lot on my website and people may wonder why I identify with her so much. Well, she is a working Mom, raising a young son, with a husband named Mike, sound like anyone else you know?

But seriously, sometimes when I tell people I have a food blog they say “Oh, kind of like that movie Julie Julia” and I say sort of. And here I am thinking, ummm, I don’t really cook so my blog is nothing like that. I just like to eat. But this year, in large part because of Julie Van Rosendaal, I feel like I can cook.

Julie’s recipes are accessible to everyone, her instructions are clear and they create really good food. One of the things I like about her recipes is that she encourages you to make the recipe the way you like it, or with the ingredients you have. Very often her ingredient lists will give you different but similar things you can use when you cook. Like I was making her Pulled Pork & Beans and the recipe calls for pork shoulder, country-style ribs or tenderloin. I wanted to use the shoulder but I couldn’t find any where I was shopping so I ended up using the tenderloin instead. There are no hard rules, just make what you like.

The other thing that is really great about her is that she takes amazing, beautiful pictures. Reading one of her cookbooks is like looking at a piece of art.

So anyway, why does all of this lead to banana bread? I was on snack duty this past week for my son’s soccer team. A lot of the parents bring granola bars or another wrapped snack. I can’t do that.

I make banana bread every weekend for my son because he likes it. I decided that I would cut up the loaf I had for the kids. My husband wasn’t sure if they would all like it but I knew. I opened the container and all the kids gobbled it up. Even their siblings wanted a piece. All those happy faces eating banana bread, now that was a treat.

Spilling the Beans Banana Bread

The recipe that I have been making almost every weekend for the last six months is from Spilling the Beans by Julie Van Rosendaal and Sue Duncan. I am going to list it below but slightly modified, the way we like to eat it.

Spilling the Beans

I know I talk about you a lot but thanks again Julie.

Banana Bread

2 very ripe bananas

1 cup (250 mL) rinsed and drained canned white beans

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup canola oil

2 large eggs

2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

In a blender (I don’t have a food processor) blend up the bananas, beans, sugar, oil, eggs and vanilla until well blended and smooth. Pour into a large bowl.

Add the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Stir until almost blended.

Spread into an 8 x 4 inch loaf pan that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray. Bake for 50 to 60 minutes, until golden and cracked on top and springy to the touch.

Makes 1 loaf.

5 thoughts on “May 26 – Treat of the Week – Banana Bread

  1. It’s funny. I was looking for a banana bread recipe this week – and by “looking”, of course I mean “thinking of looking” – so it’s totally like you read my mind!!

  2. HI – I love this recipe – thanks so much. Love the use of beans in a sweet cake, Extra protein. I have a similar recipe on my blog with Chocolate. So moist and good for the kids. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Tasty Treat Thursday – Breakfast Burritos | Heather's EATS

Leave a Reply

