Treat of the Week – Fiasco Gelato

For those of you keeping track, I have been away for a while. I had to take care of some things and then we had this little thing called a flood, but I am back. I wanted to write this post because it has been in my head for a long time and it is something that I want to share. But I also wanted to let you all know that I am going on hiatus from the food blog for a little bit. I have something else I am going to be working on that’s not food related but I am still very excited about. For my Facebook friends keep an eye out because that’s where I will be sharing what I am up to.

But that ‘s enough about that because I really want to talk about some people and treats that are very near and dear to my heart. About a month ago I was on my way to check out the new Fiasco Gelato Pop Up location at Bridgeland Market. It was a sunny night, the tunes were going in the car and what should start playing, We are Family. I thought how fitting, because I love the crew at Fiasco like family. Then I got to thinking, I have talked about Fiasco on my blog many times but I have never done a stand alone feature on them. This is really funny because I could fill the pages of this blog with pictures and stories about all the treats I have consumed from Fiasco Gelato.

Fiasco Gelato Bridgeland Pop-up

My first introduction to Fiasco was a couple of years ago when the Food Truck pilot program began in Calgary. My first scoop was strawberry balsamic and I was hooked. I followed the food trucks everywhere that summer and of course Fiasco was always there. I had many scoops of gelato that summer.

But then, for me anyway, they started to grow beyond the food truck and soon moved into their new location. Then it seemed like I was visiting their new cucina often and enjoying their company and their new treats.

You see, they are not just content to make gelato. Pretty soon gelato sandwiches started popping up everywhere. Teaming up with Torsten Kruse of Kruse’s Bakery, the best things started coming out of that place. My favourite is still the Christmas theme, ginger cookie with eggnog gelato sandwich but the Easter theme with the chocolate cookie and mini egg gelato was pretty good too. And this past year they came up with their decadent drinking chocolate with homemade marshmallows. The delicious Valentines Day theme was white chocolate with raspberry marshmallow. I went to visit them often and soon my Saturdays were filled with amazing treats. They are one of the main reasons I came up with the Treat of the Week idea.

Fiasco Gelato Sandwich

Fiasco Gelato Valentine Drinking Chocolate

But I think the real treat is the friendships I have made with the people at Fiasco. They have been kind enough to wait in -20 degree weather in Ellie, their food truck, just so I could get my ice cream sandwiches after a very hard work week. They let me hang out at their cucina often talking about food and playing football with my son. In particular James and Brittany are real stars and I have really come to value them both. They both contribute a lot to our city and I am glad to have them in our community.

So you need to get out and try some Fiasco products. They are spreading out but it is easy to find their small, handcrafted batches of heaven. You can find their food trucks, Ellie and Bambino, easily by using the Street Food App or website. But if you are looking for something more permanent, you can pick up pints at Market 17 at Casel Marche or at Bite Groceteria down in Inglewood. Or even better, go for the double whammy down at Bridgeland Market. Do like I did a month ago, try their new pop up location in the market then walk around and do some shopping. While you are eating their gelato from a house made cone you can pick a pint to take home. So check them out on Twitter at @fiascogelato or swing by their website to see what they are all about.

Fiasco Gelato

Fiasco Gelato Food Truck

2 thoughts on “Treat of the Week – Fiasco Gelato

Leave a Reply

