Treat of the Week – Pumpkin

I love when the calendar page turns to October.  The weather starts to chill, the leaves turn and we start to pull on cozy sweaters.  And for me I immediately start craving pumpkin.  It’s been like this since I was a kid.  In fact Mom, I know you are reading this so I have a confession for you.  Remember when I was about three or four?  Do you remember that pumpkin pie sitting on the counter with all the filling dug out?  That was me, and you couldn’t find it on my fingers or face because I ate it all!  And I loved it.

Thankfully, I have not done that since but at this time of year I do consume all things pumpkin.  And with Thanksgiving fast approaching here are some places in Calgary I go so I can get my fix.

Pumpkins

The students at SAIT Culinary Campus downtown are always whipping up good food.  I visit them at least once a week to eat their homework.  On the bakery side this week, they are of course offering these delicious pumpkin cupcakes with cream cheese icing.

SAIT Culinary Campus Pumpkin Cupcake

On Friday and Saturday you will want to go to Sidewalk Citizen Bakery early to see what they have to offer.  They open at 10am and I will be there on Friday morning to pick up pumpkin scones, pie and whatever else they have.  Last year I was late and I was lucky to get this one last pumpkin cookie.

Pumpkin Cookie Sidewalk Citizen Bakery

My last stop will be Fiasco Gelato’s test kitchen to pick up some of their Pumpkin Spice and Pumpkin Cheesecake gelato.  It may seem like it is going overboard but I really enjoy a scoop of that with my pumpkin pie after turkey dinner.

Pumpkin Spice Fiasco Gelato

So if you love pumpkin as much as I do I hope you are enjoying the season.  Celebrate with your family and friends this weekend and Happy Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “Treat of the Week – Pumpkin

Leave a Reply

