Treat of the Week – Burgers

Last week I talked about YYC Burger Week.  When the event started I was really excited and was going to try to eat as many burgers as possible.  I am sad to say that I did not do as well as I wanted and there were many burgers left untouched for me.  I missed out on Blowfish Sushi’s entry with the Ramen Noodle Bun and Yellow Door Bistro’s Beef Cheek Burger.

Even though I did not try some of those higher dollar burger competitors, I did the best that I could with the time that I had.  I started out strong, not much going on in the middle and went out with a bang.  Here is the story of my burger week adventures.

Friday, May 2 – Naina’s Kitchen

My husband and I decided we would take our son to go try Naina’s, last year’s winner.  A lot of people were saying that they were out-of-the-way but for us it was the closet restaurant.  We had never been there before and we were pretty happy we went.  There was no way my kid would eat the special but he was very happy with his cheeseburger.  As for us, we were really glad to eat the Pepper Steak Stuffed Burger.  The ooey gooey Sirloin burger was stuffed with sautéed onions, peppers, Stilton and Mozzarella.  This burger was very tasty and I especially appreciated that they let me order salad as my side.  As a family we will definitely be back to try the regular menu.

Naina's Kitchen Pepper Steak Stuffed Burger

Saturday, May 3 – Kingsland Farmers Market

Ok, the great thing about Kingsland Farmers Market is that there are two burgers side by side, so if you came hungry you could do two of the entries at once.  I had some errands to do and my husband watched our son so I could go stuff my face in peace.  I am a regular visitor to Kingsland so it was my pleasure to visit two places I love.

The first stop was Eats of Asia where Jay fixed me up their Busan Bao.  I love the Bao here, so light and fluffy, so I was excited for this.  What you get is a Bulgogi Beef Patty, Korean BBQ Sauce and Chopped Green Onions all on Steamed Bao.  True to form the Bao were like tasty little pillows and the burger was extremely flavourful.  I was not disappointed.

Eats of Asia Busan Bao

And just as I was finishing up Margaret from Primal Soup Company brought me her Comfort Burger.  Now this was not your traditional kind of burger but what a great sandwich, truly living up to its name.  Made as you like,the basics are Mac’N’Cheese, caramelized onions and bacon served on a home-baked bun.  On that snowy Calgary day in May it hit the spot, delicious.

Primal Soup Company Comfort Burger

May 4 to 9 – Salads and lots of other boring stuff

May 10 – Let the burger coma begin

At this point I didn’t know if I would get any more burger eating in.  My husband must love me.  He gave me the afternoon and sent me on my merry way.  The goal, to eat burgers until I could eat no more.

At my friend Wanda’s suggestion I decided to go to Flippn’ Burgers in Kensington.  She is a YYC Burger Week ambassador after all so she should know right?  Well she sure did.  This feature burger had a feature I particularly am fond of, an egg.  So I was really happy to try the Sunnyside Flipp. This is it, 6oz burger, melted smoked gouda, sautéed mushrooms and peppers, frizzled onions, and baby spinach on a fresh white Kaiser with melted garlic butter, topped with Provencal mustard an egg and a smoke sauce.  Yes that is a lot of goodness and it lived up to Wanda’s suggestion.  I came for the egg but they had me with the fresh sautéed mushrooms and peppers.

Flippn' Burgers Sunnyside Flipp

As I sat eating my yummy, messy burger I looked at my YYC Burger Week passport to contemplate my next stop. Just down the street was an intriguing option that I had heard a lot of good things about.  Next stop Oak Tree Tavern.

YYC Burger Week Passport

I hope my cousin up north would be proud, I went for the Klondike Burger!  What a thing of beauty this was.  An elk burger served on bannock bread with cranberries and sage.  And yes, this is just as good as it all sounds, maybe better.  The balance between sweet and savoury was perfect.  I knew this burger was made with love.  Now even though it had a gamey taste, it is elk after all, I completely was taken.  I ate every bite.  I really hope they put this back on the menu after burger week because this was amazing.  Oh, a side note, they had one of my favourite ciders, Sea Cider Rumrunner, what a treat!

Oak Tree Tavern Klondike Burger

So did I have one more in me after all that?  Yes I did. Well, after a little stroll through Kensington and a drive to my next destination.

I haven’t eaten at Billingsgate Seafood Market before but my Mom loves to eat here.  I also had heard good things about this special so I thought I would try it.  Another non-traditional burger awaited my taste buds.  The Samurai Ahi Tuna Burger is 5oz of Ahi Tuna Steak Seared with Soy and Sesame Oil, Topped with Crispy Fried Dulse, Salmon Ikura Roe & a Wasbi Aioli Between A Baked Fresh Daily Cobs Breads Bun.  The tuna was cooked perfectly and was a nice light option for my third burger in three hours.  Yes, I’m crazy.  I also liked the texture with the dulse and really liked the wasabi and roe.  It was like eating sushi, on a bun.  I was pretty happy I decided to stop by.

Billingsgate Market Samurai Ahi Tuna Burger

Out of 30 restaurants I got to six.  I know that others were able to get to much more but all in all I’m pretty happy with what I accomplished.  I know that each burger I ate was contributing to a local charity and I think Made by Momma made a little from me this week.  And the best thing, I got to try some new places that I would definitely go to again.

And who was the best?  They were all so good so don’t make me choose but I think the Klondike Burger tops my list. Thanks for putting together such a great event YYC Burger Week! 

Last note, yes I borrowed the ingredients list for all these burgers from the YYC Burger Week website, I didn’t want to miss anything.

Leave a Reply

