The Food of Barbados

Hello my friends.  Some of you may have thought I forgot about the food blog but I haven’t.  I have just been working on another project.  Back at the end of May I found myself unexpectedly looking for work.  Now don’t get me wrong, it’s been nice having the last couple of months off but I have to tell you that looking for a job is almost like a full time job.  But after lots of reflection, and a little bit of hard work I am pleased to say that I have found a home for my next adventure. 

Now that I have that very important part of my life settled it is time for me to get back to my hobby.  I have missed talking to you all about food and what I have been eating.  I have had a lot of fun in the last couple of months with some great eating adventures.  The highlight was at the beginning of June when my husband and I travelled to Barbados for our tenth wedding anniversary.  So even though I have had some wonderful meals so far this summer I think Barbados is a great place to start for my first post back in a while.

The great thing about Barbados is that we were able to stay with our very dear friend who grew up in Barbados.  It was a joy to tour around the island with him for the first couple of days seeing all of his childhood haunts and then renting a car to explore a little on our own.  In this land of breathtaking beaches and super friendly people we ate some amazing food and drank a lot of rum punch.

So where to eat?  If you have some extra cash to spend you can eat some really fine meals.  We celebrated our anniversary at The Tides in Holetown, one of the nicest restaurants on the island.  My only complaint with this meal is we were there after the sun set so we weren’t able to fully enjoy the ocean view and we had to get creative to light my food photos.  Here were some of the highlights.

Tides Holetown Barbados

Seared Scallops & Chilean Sea Bass Tides Barbados

Seared Scallops with Chilean Sea Bass

Assiette of Bajan Banana Tides Barbados

Assiette of Bajan Banana with Banana Milkshake, Homemade Banana Ice Cream and Caramelized Banana Tart

Anniversary wishes Tides Barbados

Even though that was a pretty fancy meal there are a lot of other affordable treats to be found on the island.  Like the next day when we headed to Pebble Beach for the afternoon.  Right there is the ultimate street food experience, Cuz’s Fish Shack.  It was so good I had two fish cutters.  Oh yes, that’s what they call sandwiches in Barbados, cutters.

Cuz's Fish Shack Barbados

Fish Cutter Cuz's Fish Shack Barbados

Also, one of the things I noticed as we were driving around is that there are no McDonalds!  Our friend mentioned that they did have some on the island however people didn’t go to them so they closed up shop.  I was so thrilled to hear this.  The fast food restaurant of choice in Barbados is Chefette.  The yellow and purple signs pull you in to enjoy chicken, hamburgers, fries and of course my favourite, rotis.

Chefette Barbados

I also discovered Cou Cou about half way through the trip.  I couldn’t get enough of this cornmeal mush mixed with fried okra.  It tastes really good with fish stew and I think I ate it four days in row.  Here is the plate I had at Carib, which is close to St. Lawrence Gap, with fried flying fish and mixed veggies.

Fried Flying Fish and Cou Cou Carib Barbados

And here is the plate I had at Mustor’s in Bridgetown with fried flying fish and another popular Bajan side, macaroni pie.  This is the place to eat in Barbados, I highly suggest a trip to Mustor’s.

Mustors Bridgetown Barbados

There was of course rum punch everyday.  We were handed one directly on tour of St. Nicholas Abbey and on our submarine tour.  I enjoyed the beach view when I drank one at L’Attitude in Speightstown.  But my absolute favourite was the homemade rum punch my friend’s uncle served us after our swim looking over the beach from his vacation rental on Brighton Beach.

St. Nicholas Abbey Barbados

Rum Punch L'Atitude Speightstown Barbados

Brighton Beach Barbados

On Friday nights the place to be in Barbados is Oistins for the fish fry.  There is lots of cheap, delicious food, cheap beer and entertainment.  At one end is the older crowd waltzing the night away with the granny’s sitting on the side waiting their turn.  And further down is the big bandstand where all the popular music is played and everyone is dancing and enjoying themselves.  Of course their are souvenir tents and lots of people sneaking onto the beach to get their feet wet.  Because it was dark I didn’t get a lot of photos but trust me, the food was great.  And for us this was our last night on the island and a very fitting way to end our week in Barbados.

Oistins Fish Fry Barbados

This holiday came at the perfect time.  It was a great chance to recharge and I really hope we get back to visit some time soon because these kind of sites take my breath away.

Crescent Beach Barbados

Carib Beach Barbados

Leave a Reply

