What the Hell was I Thinking – Thanksgiving Edition

I’m seriously considering renaming my blog “The Misadventures in My Kitchen” with the subtitle “What the Hell was I Thinking”.  Let me explain.

Earlier in the year my friend Elizabeth put together this great post about Blue Rodeo, Kate Boothman and this amazing pumpkin pie recipe on Rolling Spoon’s blog.  It looked delicious and I let it stick in the back of mind that I wanted to make it for Thanksgiving.  For the past couple of weeks I’ve started stocking up on the supplies to make it and today was the day to put it all together.

The thing that makes this recipe unique is the base, it is made of finely ground maple cookies.  I didn’t really think about how I was going to grind those cookies up so when it came time to actually do it I was stuck.  You see, the recipe said use a food processor and pulse into fine crumbs.  I don’t have an electric food processor BUT I do have a Tupperware Quick Chef, which is a hand-held food processor.  So I put it together and start grinding up the 40 maple cookies.  What the hell was I thinking!

Maple Leaf Cookies

After I finished I put it out on the twitter sphere how crazy that was and of course my friend Julie (Dinner with Julie) said when she made the recipe she had the same problem so she put the cookies in a Ziploc bag and pounded the smithereens out of them with a wine bottle.  I’m laughing so hard thinking, of course, that would have been so much easier, I always choose the hard way.  What the hell was I thinking!

But that is not the end of my misadventures.  You have to make the pie using a springform pan.  I haven’t used ones of these for a very long time but I had some hidden away so I hauled one out to make the pie.  I kind of forgot that when you put wet stuff in a springform pan when baking it leaks out the bottom.  You can see where this is going.

Twenty minutes in the pie is leaking all over my oven and it is filling up with smoke!  I am freaking out and my husband and son are laughing.  Thank goodness it is a beautiful fall day because as I write this my house is full of smoke and all the doors and windows are open to air the place out!  My house is supposed to smell wonderful and it smells like it is burning.  What the hell was I thinking!

Ok ok, I may be over reacting but in the midst of all this that is how I felt.  I have come a long way in my kitchen since I started my blog but some days I feel like a complete idiot and really wonder, what the hell was I thinking!

Thankfully, I managed to get the pie done and I’m really looking forward to trying it tomorrow, of course with a scoop of Fiasco Gelato’s Autumn Pumpkin Spice.

Blue Rodeo's Maple Cookie Pumpkin Pie from Rolling Spoon

And more importantly I am truly blessed and have a lot to be thankful for.  In this year of immense change for me, I have come out on the other side so much happier.  Every Thanksgiving I remember the same thing and I never forget it.  This year it seems extremely relevant.  I am thankful for the hard times in life because they make you strong and help you appreciate when things are good.  And things are good, really good.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone, and don’t forget to appreciate the small things in life.  That never leads to misadventure.  And now I’m off to enjoy some of this Big Rock special edition Rock Creek Cider I found today.

Big Rock Rock Creek Cider Sample Pack

Leave a Reply

