The Little Potato Company Smoky Baked Potato Soup

When I originally started this blog, yes I wanted to talk about food, but I also wanted to learn.  It’s that goal and attitude that has brought me to this post.

I always say that I don’t really cook and to be honest I’m not that confident in my capabilities.  I like to eat and can tell you what’s good but I don’t often feel that I can make it.  That is why so far in this blog I have shied away from recipe development opportunities.

When the Food Bloggers of Canada came out with a chance to work with The Little Potato Company to develop a recipe with their Creamer Potatoes I didn’t give it much thought.  I almost didn’t sign up but at last minute I decided I would for two reasons.

First, it was time for me to step out of my bubble and try something new.  And second I thought this was an excellent opportunity to work with a product that I already use and my family loves.  In fact my son is always picking up the little bags of potatoes to bring home during the week for my husband to make.  It seemed like a good fit.

So here I am, I was accepted to participate. I didn’t know what I should do so I involved my husband and son in the conversation to generate ideas.  My son piped up that he would like me to make some soup.  I began thinking and I thought it would be perfect to make a soup that tasted like a baked potato.  He agreed and I started to think about ingredients.

The next day at work I was talking food with my friend Aadil, which is a regular occurrence.  We were talking cheese and he mentioned that my soup would taste really good with a smoked cheddar.  I thought so too.  With that the plan was starting to form in my head.

When the potatoes arrived at my house I knew what I would do and started to assemble ingredients.  Then the weekend came I had time to put it all together.  I put my son to work helping me make my Smoky Baked Potato Soup.

The Little Potato Company Shipment

The Little Potato Company Smoky Baked Potato Soup Ingredients

I was pleased with the end result. I was even happier that my son loved it with the hunks of bread served beside, it was a good meal.  And even though it wasn’t quite what Aadil thought it would be he said he enjoyed it too.  This is a soup I will definitely make again.

Ingredients

1 and 1/2 cups of pancetta, chopped like matchsticks

4 green onions washed with the white and pale green parts chopped finely

1 bag of Little Potato Company Baby Boomer Creamer Potatoes, each potato halved

1 Tbsp of thyme

6 cups of chicken stock

1 cup grated smoked aged cheddar cheese

1 cup sour cream

Salt and pepper to taste

Method

  1. Heat a large pot over medium high heat and cook the pancetta until golden in colour.
  2. Once cooked remove the pancetta from the pot and place on a paper towel lined plate.
  3. Put the green onions in the pot and cook using the remaining pancetta fat.  Reduce the heat to medium and continue to cook until onions are softened.
  4. Add the potatoes and thyme, then stir.
  5. Add the chicken stock and bring to a boil.  Then reduce the heat to a medium low.
  6. Let the soup simmer uncovered until the potatoes are tender, about 20 minutes.
  7. Remove the pot from the heat and stir in the cheese and sour cream.  Add salt and pepper to taste.
  8. Serve the soup making sure to get a nice portion of potatoes.  Generously sprinkle the top with pancetta.

The Little Potato Company Soup Helper

The Little Potato Company Smoky Baked Potato Soup Cooking

Just to finish, yes, I was sent free potatoes from The Little Potato Company to help test this recipe.  And yes, my family and I enjoyed using and eating them.  Thank you to The Little Potato Company!

The Little Potato Company Smoky Baked Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

