Echelon Foods Turducken, Christmas Dinner and Snow

It happened a week ago, at the end of Christmas day 2014 the snow began to fall on our brown Christmas, quietly and peacefully.  But I’m getting ahead of myself.

We decided to host Christmas at our house this year and that decision really began in October when I received an email from Echelon Foods.  They asked if I’d be interested in trying one of their Turduckens.  Even though my husband usually cooks our holiday feast he has always toyed with the idea of a Turducken, so we decided to give it a try.

The Original Turducken is a whole turkey de-boned except for the wings and drumsticks then stuffed with deboned chicken, duck and stuffing.  You can get it with two different kinds of stuffing, the Italian Sausage and the Chicken and Apple Sausage, which is what we decided to go with.  It said it served 12 to 15 people, which is more than we needed, but who doesn’t love leftovers?

Echelon Foods Turducken

It was super easy to get one, I ordered ours through the Costco website and it was delivered directly to our door, then we put it in the freezer.  About five days before Christmas my husband took the Turducken out of the freezer and put it in the fridge to thaw out.  By the time Christmas rolled around we were ready.

Because we like to keep our oven free for other cooking we typically use our on the counter roasting oven when cooking up the turkey.  This is how we decided to cook the Turducken.  Before our first guests arrived for breakfast at 9:00 am, my husband warmed up the roaster to 225 degrees F then put the Turducken inside.  All he did was cut it out of the bag and make sure all the leftover juice was drizzled on top.

Turducken Pre-Roast

Then we went about our day cooking and watching movies and relaxing.  Throughout the day my husband checked on the Turducken, basting it and once putting butter on top.  We did have some problems having it brown up but I think that has more to do with our roaster oven than anything else.  We probably left it in a little longer than we should have trying to get it to crisp up but we pulled it out around 5:00 pm.  After letting it rest for about 20 minutes or so we sliced it up and got our dinner ready to serve.

Turducken Roasting

Sliced Turducken

The end result was very tasty. We served it with my husband’s Sausage and Apple Stuffing, Bacon and Sour Cream Mashed Potatoes, Steamed Carrots,  Mashed Turnip, Parkerhouse Rolls from Glamorgan Bakery and of course gravy.  My very traditional family enjoyed their slightly altered meal and my husband said it was the easiest turkey he had every cooked.

Turducken Christmas Dinner

We would definitely try the Turducken again but next time we will try it in our oven to see if we can get it to brown up more.  It was very easy to make and definitely contributed to the day.

And the day ended with snow.  After the dishes were done and everyone left.  After my son and husband went to bed.  After I finished my glass of wine and turned all the lights out except for the Christmas tree.  I sat in front of the window and noticed the snow, the quiet and peaceful snow.

Christmas Tree 2014

My family and I would like to thank Echelon Foods for providing us with a Turducken for our Christmas Feast.  I have not been compensated for this post and all opinions belong to my family and I.

 

Leave a Reply

