Definitely Not a Food Post

It’s been almost two weeks. On January 29 my Mom phoned me to tell me the shocking news that my Aunt died in a tragic car accident. I yelled into my phone, I couldn’t believe it. I still can’t believe it.

In the past week I have been thinking what I would do on the blog to honour her. I thought maybe I would do a post with some of our shared food memories. No, that is not enough.

I then thought I would just share some memories or maybe reflect back on her funeral. To be honest, I’m not ready to have that out there for public consumption.

All I can say was even though we did not spend a lot of time together in the past few years I still miss my Aunt Isabel a whole bunch. She was one of my biggest champions in the blog and supported me all the way. She always did. And now there is an overwhelming sadness that follows me as I, like the rest of my family, try to figure out what life is like now without her.

It will go on, of course. As a family we know this as we huddle together to support each other. And for now I need a break. The food blogging will be back, I’m just not sure when.

Love you Auntie.

IMG_0141

One thought on “Definitely Not a Food Post

Leave a Reply

