Pasta Winner and Canmore Uncorked Food and Drink Festival 2015

Before I get started, I want to say congratulations to Jonnie B who is the winner of the pasta giveaway I held last week.  This Team Lasagna guy is going to get a chance to try out the new Catelli Healthy Harvest Ancient Grains Rotini, Spaghetti and Spaghettini.  Enjoy!

Here is what I have learned this week, I don’t know anything about Canmore.  Here is what I have decided.  This year I am going to spend less time in Banff and more time learning about Canmore.  And here is why.

Last week Tourism Canmore Kananskis came to Calgary to give us a sneak peek of their Canmore Uncorked Food and Drink Festival.  This year’s edition starts on April 7 and goes until April 19.  For those of you who are fans of Calgary’s Big Taste you should check this out as the concept is similar.

Canmore Murrieta's Canmore Uncorked Prep

A variety of restaurants are offering set-price menus and different price points for lunch and dinner.  To get a comprehensive list you should check out the Canmore Uncorked website at www.CanmoreUncorked.com.

Sage Bistro Canmore Uncorked Prep

The crew from Canmore Murrieta’s have their take on PB&J available as one of their appetizer options.  If you get a chance to try this you should as PB not only stands for Peanut Butter but Pork Belly.

Canmore Murrieta's PB&J

Roasted Peanuts, Strawberry Balsamic Puree, Maple Braised Pork Belly and Apple Slaw

Another outstanding choice is Sage Bistro and one of their options for an appetizer, Three Arancini Risotto Balls.  This one tastes even better than it looks, trust me!

Sage Bistro's Three Arancini Risotto Balls

Three Arancini Risotto Balls with Butternut Squash, Sage, Pine Nuts and a Sylvan Star Gouda Brown Butter Béchamel Sauce.

Also included as a part of the festival are special events like Progressive Dinners, The Big Brunch and a Culinary Symphony.  I am particularly excited to attend the Culinary Symphony because the meal will feature food paired with the music of Quartteto Gelato playing live.  I have never heard of anything like this before and I am very excited to experience this event.  I’ll let you know my thoughts next week.

So yes, I had no idea Canmore had so many interesting restaurants and culinary stops.  If I don’t get a chance to try them all at Canmore Uncorked I am going to have a heck of a time exploring all year.

Canmore Uncorked Apron

5 thoughts on “Pasta Winner and Canmore Uncorked Food and Drink Festival 2015

  1. Pingback: The FBC News: Weekend Link Edition For April 18, 2015 | Food Bloggers of Canada

Leave a Reply

