Cook it Raw Alberta & Thoughts

My post this week was supposed to be about the amazing food movement that is in Alberta this week, Cook it Raw. This international culinary event pairs local chefs with chefs from around the world to focus on creating some amazing food with one local ingredient as a theme. There are things like bison and honey and mouthwatering dishes are being made. The chefs are in Canmore for the week and are living off the land, working with their ingredients. At the end of the week they will be showcasing their dishes to the public and you can buy tickets here if you are interested in attending. And if you want to find out more go to the website to check it out. 

So sadly I don’t have any photos to share with you. I was supposed to go to the sneak a peek event on Sunday but unfortunately I was unable to make it. 

Ok guys, I hate to say it and I feel like I’m starting to sound like a broken record but we had to say goodbye to my Grandma on September 30. And I was lucky and blessed enough to be with my family in Ontario to celebrate her life. 

At this point I almost don’t know what to say anymore. After the unexpected loss of my Aunt earlier this year and then my Mom and now this I really have no words. 

What I can say is this. I have many memories of my Grandma. She lived to be 92 and that is a good long life. So I am sad to lose her but I am comforted by the fact that she is now in heaven with her two daughters. 

I love you Grandma. I will miss your scones and jam and especially those Sunday afternoon special Western sandwiches.  
  

Leave a Reply

