Grandma’s Cream Scones

I have written and rewritten this post in my head so many times.  I am going to talk about my Grandma’s scones but before I get there I just wanted to share some thoughts.

This has been such a tough year for our family but what I love most is that we are getting through it all together.  Because we are family and that’s what we do.  That’s what our Grandparents taught us, and our Moms too.  And as I sat looking at my cousin’s, thinking about all of our loss this year, I thought about what an incredible legacy my grandparents have left.  I am so proud of my siblings and my cousins and I am so grateful to be a part of this family.  We have a few of the older generation left to guide us but we are ready to carry the torch.

Remember when I was talking earlier in the year, after we lost my Aunt, about all eleven of us being thrown in the back of the car together?  Well, all eleven of us were together again, for a very brief time.  I was so happy to see each and everyone, I love them all.  I finally got that photo I wanted of all of us.  I know Grandma and Grandpa, Mom and my Aunt were and are smiling down on us.

The Eleven Cousins

Ok, now I want to talk to you about my Grandma’s scones.  The infamous scones that we all loved.  When we were sharing memories of Grandma two weeks ago we all talked about her scones.  As children we begged her to make them and she always did, of course.  As adults some of us asked for the recipe but she laughed because she never wrote it down, it all came from her head.  My sister even stood beside my Gran one time while she made the scones, diligently writing everything down.  And even though my sister has attempted to make the scones she said she has never really been able to recreate them.

So imagine my surprise when I got to the funeral home and looked at the back of the memorial card for my Grandma and saw the recipe for her scones.  The first opportunity I got I asked my Aunt where this came from.  It turns out when my cousins were going through my Gran’s papers, getting ready for the funeral, this recipe was scribbled on a page of an address book.  I was very surprised and extremely pleased.

Grandma's Cream Scones Handwritten Recipe

My Gran taught us all so much about food and for me, she was a big inspiration to start this blog.  She not only talked about food all the time but she was also a very good cook.  But of all the things she was so good at making, the scones were the things that brought us the most comfort.  So to have this recipe, written in her hand is an immense gift.

This weekend when I finally got around to making the scones I kind of felt my Grandma at my side.  I changed a couple of things in her recipe as I went but I could almost hear her say, that’s ok, I always went by feel anyway.  And then when I had the dough made I kind of hit a wall.  I looked at the bowl not sure how to form them.  I was going to roll the dough out and cut them into clean circles using a glass but then the memory came to me as clear as day.  Visions of my Gran rolling the dough in her hands and then patting them flat, so that’s what I did too.

Grandma's Cream Scones Before

Then when I pulled them out I couldn’t wait to try them.  Are they exactly like my Gran’s?  Almost but not quite.  Rumour has it that Grandma always said the secret was using slightly expired cream, but I couldn’t wait that long so I used what I had in the fridge.  One of these days I’ll give that a try.  Regardless, I ate the scones just like I did when I was a kid, slathered in butter with strawberry jam.  I felt like a kid again and it felt good.

Grandma's Cream Scones After

So here is my Gran’s recipe with my changes.  I hope it brings you as much comfort as it does us.

Grandma’s Cream Scones

Ingredients:

2 ½ cups flour

½ cup sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

¼ cup frozen butter

1 cup raisins

1 egg

1 cup cream

  1. Heat oven to 375°C.
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
  3. Using a box grater, grate the frozen butter into curls and put in the flour mixture.
  4. Using your fingers, toss the butter curls in the flour.
  5. Add the cream and egg.
  6. Mix ingredients together until all the flour is combined and the mixture is wet. Don’t be afraid to use your hands!
  7. Roll the dough into balls then pat flat.
  8. Place on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper.
  9. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes.

Makes 10 medium size scones.

Grandma's Cream Scones with Jam

5 thoughts on “Grandma’s Cream Scones

  1. Hi Heather
    What an amazing blog post…and the strength to have written it. It’s a perfect legacy for your grandma. I am thankful to have known her and be neighbours of your aunt Liz and uncle Duncan. All such wonderful people. Your grandma sat in my living room numerous times for our WI meetings.
    I am so glad I found your blog and will be following from now on. Thanks for sharing!

    Deb

    http://thefarmhousequilter.blogspot.ca/

    Ps. I write using blogger but have a wordpress account I can’t get rid of so sometimes when I read blogs on wordpress it messes up my comment. I will be following your blog on my blogger dashboard.

  2. Hi Heather,
    What a nice tribute to your gramma and her delicious scones. She used to make them for your aunt Elizabeth and occasionally I was lucky enough to be offered one when I was visiting Liz. They were delicious and a real treat. One of the times your gramma made them she had cut them into triangles and had used currents in the recipe. No matter the shape of them, the ingredients and her method of putting the ingredients together is probably the secret to the delicious taste of them. I had wanted to ask your gramma for her recipe years ago but never had got around to it. Now that I have it, I will make them.

    • I am so glad Joanne. Thank you so much for your comment and kind words. You know, I almost cut triangles because that’s how I make them but I just decided to do it that way. Please enjoy the scones when you make them.

  3. Pingback: What Dae Ye Ken? A Kindle in the Kitchen! | Heather's EATS

Leave a Reply

