Welcome to 2016

A year, it’s been a year. A year ago my Aunt died in the most tragic of circumstances, a car accident, on a snowy road. And it wasn’t the only loss this year but thinking back the suddenness of it was shocking. Because of that, it makes this loss almost seem worse. What would it have been like when my Mom died if my Auntie had been there? There is so much more that I could say but I don’t really want to go down that rabbit hole.

And I don’t want to do that because she loved life. She’d want us to be happy and celebrate while we remember her and her life. So today I remember and tomorrow I celebrate.

For my own reasons I will be celebrating the New Year tomorrow also. That’s only because I was sick as a dog at the end of December and couldn’t do much of anything. I didn’t get any closure on my year. I didn’t get a chance to say good-bye, to kick the year out the door and start fresh. I thought it would be fitting to pop open a bottle to do that and also raise a glass to my Aunt.

Stoneboat Grand Piano

So that’s what I’m going to do. And then I get to start on my new year.

I’ve also done a lot of reflecting over the past couple of months with where the blog is going. Everywhere I turn in my blogging life people are talking about “Take the Leap”. I’ve been thinking about that a lot, what is my leap? Am I ready to take this little thing I have going to a self-hosted site? Should I be going out there and pitching myself more? There are so many what ifs but I came to this conclusion.  For where I am in my life, I can’t do those things. In order for me to maintain balance I need to continue as I am.

I’ve also thought a lot about what kind of blog this is. I’m not exactly a recipe blog, nor am I restaurant review blog. I don’t talk about healthy eating alone or about travel. I’ve read on forums that people skip through all the narrative to get to the recipes only. That is not me.

I am a story writer, first and foremost. My stories revolve around everything relating to food. Sometimes you’ll get a story with a recipe, or a restaurant review, or a product. You get the idea.   And that’s just who I am.

For me to determine that for myself and not feel anxious about any of the other stuff is a leap, not much of one but still a leap. So for this year, that’s how I continue.  I already have some posts in the works that revolve around healthy eating so stay tuned.  Let 2016 begin.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to 2016

  1. I love the narrative. Story telling is why I read blogs, when I want just a recipe I stick to traditional sites or cookbooks. Looking forward to seeing what 2016 brings for your blog. All the best!!

Leave a Reply

