Tick Tock, When a Food Blog and the Bible Collide

It has been such a crazy month, there has been a reason why I haven’t written.  Between events and personal things I feel like I have been thrown from one place to the next taking it one step at a time.  We’re all busy and I get it, it just seems like it is even more frantic than usual right now.

Today was a relatively slow day, Sunday, a day of rest.  I haven’t been to church for three weeks and to me it seemed like an eternity.  Even though my husband doesn’t go to church he encourages me to do so.  I told him today I had to go, I needed to.  In fact I was craving it.

I like driving to church on Sundays.  It is a mostly peaceful twenty-five minute drive from my house ending most of the time, on a clear day, with a breathtaking view of the mountains.  But why was it today that I couldn’t help but formulate a post in my head while I was driving.

My brain was still whirring as I stepped into our hall, and even worship, the singing, my most sacred of times couldn’t snap me out of it.  I smiled at my friends, who I missed dearly but still at the back of my head, I was putting a blog post together.

God  has a funny way of changing plans.

The sermon started, and one of my favourite teaching pastors was at the front.  Our church is just finishing up a three week series called Tick Tock: the seasons of life and the lessons of time.  Of course, because I was away, I have missed it.  You can see where I am going with this.

As my friend Bob spoke, I felt God’s hand  on me and finally my brain and heart started to listen.  It wasn’t subtle, it was almost like a firm talking to.  My Father was telling me to clear my head of all the other stuff and write about how a food blog and church can co-exist.  You may wonder this yourself and how it all ties to waiting on the Lord.

Here is the scripture that was our focal point this morning.

The Parable of the Growing Seed

26 He also said, “This is what the kingdom of God is like. A man scatters seed on the ground. 27 Night and day, whether he sleeps or gets up, the seed sprouts and grows, though he does not know how. 28 All by itself the soil produces grain—first the stalk, then the head, then the full kernel in the head. 29 As soon as the grain is ripe, he puts the sickle to it, because the harvest has come.”  Mark 4:26-29 NIV

Yes, this just screamed to the food blogger in me and what a perfect scripture to read at this season in my life.  We focused on three main points and I feel like my day  somehow fits into each of these.

We talked about how at the beginning there is Active Busyness, when the farmer is actively planting his garden , scattering seed.  Now I don’t know if I could really say if the busy thoughts of my morning were really planting seeds but I certainly felt like I was involved in an act of busyness, productive or not.

Plantung the Garden, Active Busyness

After the planting comes the act of waiting, Patient Waiting.  This is where God works his magic, and  we have no idea how or why.  But yet if we wait patiently that plant is going to grow and produce in it’s own time, in God’s time.  In the craziness of my life right now this struck me hard.  On this day of rest, I stopped, took an immediate pause and listened.  It was actually in this moment I felt called to write this post.  I long for summer, I long for the restful time of growth, where God can work his magic when we rest in Him.

Garden Growing, Patient Waiting

And at the end after the waiting, the maturation, comes harvest, where Hope Is Realized. What a great reminder of what is to come.  I’m not there yet, I need to dwell for a time in the waiting period.  My strawberries and tomatoes have a little while to go before they are ripe.  But there is something to look forward to when I finally get there.

The Harvest, Hope Realized

There are so many comparisons I can draw here.  I am not a theologian or a scholar but I just know what I feel and I know what my Father is telling me.  I can only hope that my very human words can portray the conviction I felt this morning and you can draw from them.

And Bob, if you do read this, I borrowed heavily from your sermon this morning.  He spoke to me through you, I think to many of us this morning.

And that’s how a food blog and the bible collide.  This doesn’t even take into account Communion, which we also participated in today as a church family.  But that is a story for another time.

Leave a Reply

