The GLAD Canada Challenge

If any of my co-workers read this post, I know they will laugh.  That is because my week day lunches are usually ones of convenience.  There are times at the end of a busy weekend I’ll just grab veggies and fruits from the grocery store that are already chopped and ready to go.  It works and it keeps me healthy.

However, I was contacted by GLAD to try some of their products so I thought this would be a good opportunity to liven up my lunches and try to be more prepared.  I am no stranger to GLAD storage  containers and cling wrap as they are regulars in our kitchen but I was interested to try a couple of new things.

So first things first, I chopped my own vegetables!  I don’t always like to eat salad but prefer to eat a variety of chopped vegetables.  It’s kind of like snacking all day and it keeps me going until it’s time to go home.  The GLAD Soup & Salad Containers are perfect for this.  You can pack one for every day of the week and they will last that long when stored in the fridge.   And the GLAD Mini Rounds are the perfect companion when used for veggie dip, which will usually last me for the whole week.

Glad Challenge - Veggies

The product I wanted to try that was new to me were the GLAD FreezerWare Containers.  I decided to make some soup for the upcoming week.  You can make any kind of soup but Asparagus is in season right now so I decided to try a new recipe I had for Asparagus and Cheddar Soup.

After I made the soup, I let it cool down then ladled the servings into the containers.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat all of the containers at work for lunch that week so I left two in the fridge for the week and put the other two in the freezer for another time.

Glad Challenge - Soup

And sure enough, two weeks later those containers of soup in the freezer came in handy.  I was just back from holidays and only had a couple of days left in my work week.  I didn’t have time to go grocery shopping and wanted something quick.  Pulling these out of the freezer were my lifeline for the week.  And the best thing is that after I let the soup thaw and heated the containers up in the microwave the soup tasted just as it had two weeks before when it was freshly made. Oh, the GLAD Mini Rounds came in handy again when I brought some cubed cheese to go with my soup.

Glad Challenge - Lunch

My lunches weren’t the only thing I tried something new with.  My son likes to eat the same thing for lunch everyday and that includes green apples.  The problem is that he doesn’t actually like eating the apple so I help him out by cutting the apples into slices in the morning before I send him off to school.  The problem is that he only eats half the apple and so I end up putting the other half in the fridge and some of it goes bad.  But, I decided to try this great tip from GLAD.

On Thursday, which is the last day of the week I have to make a school lunch, I cut an apple in half, just like I normally would.  I wrapped one half with GLAD Cling Wrap and the other half I left naked.  Then I put both halves in the fridge.

Glad Challenge - Green Apple Before

Now this is where I confess, I actually forgot about the apple because it was in a drawer, out of sight and out of mind.  When I finally remembered it was exactly a week later, Thursday.  I pulled the apple out of the fridge and the half that was wrapped was just fine for my son’s lunch.

Glad Challenge - Green Apple After

There are lots of other things you can do with GLAD products but I really appreciate that they are helping me get back to healthy eating.  They make prepping easy and keep me on track.  And the great thing is that you can find GLAD products in any grocery store across Canada.

This post has been sponsored by GLAD Canada.  I have been compensated for this post but all opinions are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

