Craft Corner Kitchen in Penticton BC

Last February I received a message from my friend Chef James Holmes.  He told me he had a new restaurant in the works.  And then as the days ticked by and we chatted more and more I was asked to write a post about the new restaurant.  I, of course, said yes.

In an effort to widen the exposure I got in touch with my friends over at Eat North to ask if I could feature the restaurant on their website.  They said yes!  This was a new adventure for me and I’m not going to lie, I was pretty excited.  I mean, I got to travel to Penticton by myself without my husband or son.  I pretty much had an all access pass to the kitchen and restaurant to take photos.  And I made some life long connections with people I probably would have never met.  I was in heaven the whole trip.  Catching the behind the scenes of the new Craft Corner Kitchen will be one of the food highlights of my year.

So here’s the thing, I took a huge amount of photos while I was there but of course there is no way they could post them all over on Eat North’s site.  But because this is my blog I can do whatever I want so I am going to post all my favorite photos here.  But before I do that, here is the link to my post on Eat North’s website.  Click here and go take a read of that and come back for all the photos below.

Ok, back?  Good.  When I was going through my photos I thought it would be best to separate them into three groups.  First will be the prep, these photos were taken the day the restaurant cleared inspection and everyone was excited to get back in the kitchen.

Second will be the photos from the Industry Night Tasting Dinner, this is where you get to see all those great food shots, and there are some pretty tasty treats.  Last I will post my photos of the space and some of the unique features of the building.

I know that makes for a very long post BUT I promise it’s worth it.  So…let’s get to it.

The Prep

Craft Corner Kitchen Chef James Holmes

Chef James Holmes setting up his new Kitchen Bar Space.

Craft Corner Kitchen Chef Jason Meyers

Chef Jason Meyer celebrating getting back in the kitchen.

Craft Corner Kitchen Chef Holly Kernohan

Chef Holly Kernohan making magic happen at the stove.

Craft Corner Kitchen Chef Holly Kernohan

One of the very first things to happen, get those pickles ready.

Craft Corner Kitchen at the Kitchen Bar

The team standing at the new kitchen bar, all smiles to be in their new space.

Industry Night Tasting Dinner

Craft Corner Kitchen Cocktail

Starting with cocktails at the bar prepared by Jonathan Cote.

Craft Corner Kitchen From the Garden

From the Garden plates ready to send to the table, featuring items from Chef Holmes’ own back garden.

Craft Corner Kitchen Deviled Eggs

Plates and plates of Deviled Eggs.

Craft Corner Kitchen Skillet Cornbread

Skillet Corn Bread with Craft Herbs, Citrus Crème Fraiche and Maple Sugar.

Craft Corner Kitchen Industry Night

Everyone gathered around the family style table excited to try all the food.

Craft Corner Kitchen Housemade Bread

All the bread please. Good on it’s own or used to sop up all the goodness left on the plates.

Craft Corner Kitchen Cache Creek BC Pig Steak

Cache Creek BC Pig Steak with Peoples Craft House Ginger Beer, Pickled Fennel, Fresh Horseradish and Apple Syrup.

Craft Corner Kitchen Botanical Cured and Roasted Cauliflower

Botanical Cured and Roasted Cauliflower with Sun Steeped Vanilla Local Honey, Sun Dried Rose Yogurt and Salt Pressed Celery.

Craft Corner Kitchen Chicken Fried Sardines

Anyone for some Chicken Fried Sardines?

Craft Corner Kitchen Smash Burger

Smash Burger with Pork Belly, Alberta Beef, Onion, Housemade Pickles, Smoked Special Sauce and American Cheese Slices.

Craft Corner Kitchen Wilted Rapini

Wilted Rapini with Poached Egg, Beer Cheese, Bacon and Rye Crumb.

Craft Corner Kitchen Family Dinner

Meeting new people and enjoying dinner together, family style. Community Sourced Community Driven.

Craft Corner Kitchen Rhubarb Donuts

Donuts are different everyday, these beauties have Rhubarb inside.

Craft Corner Kitchen Pop Tart Fruit Loop Gelato Sandwich

Childhood Trio, Pop Tart with Fruit Loop Gelato Sandwich.  A sweet finish to an amazing meal.

Room Highlights

The light fixtures are unique, especially the ones above the family style table.

The light fixtures are unique, especially the ones above the family style table.

Craft Corner Kitchen Pop of Red

The space is mostly neutral except for the pops of red, like this repurposed palette.

Craft Corner Kitchen Photo on the Wall

Found in the basement was this portrait that hung in the Greek restaurant that used to be in the same building, a nod to the past.

Craft Corner Kitchen Patio

One of the best things about the space is the patio with the sparkling lights overhead.

So that’s the best of the rest, thanks for sticking with me.  If you are in Penticton you need to go see Craft Corner Kitchen located at 557 Main Street.  I promise you won’t be disappointed.

I also wanted to give a big thanks to James for asking me be there in the beginning.  It truly was an honour.  I loved the opportunity and I can’t wait to come back for more memorable meals.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Craft Corner Kitchen in Penticton BC

Leave a Reply

