What’s Eating You? When a Food Blog and the Bible Collide

I know, I know , it’s been a really long time since I’ve written anything.  Over the summer my responsibilities at work changed and as a result I am finding that I don’t have much in the tank at the end of the day to write anything.  But Instagram has been a great outlet for me.  It has been much more my speed, getting quick posts out there and providing me with some balance.

I wish I could say this is the beginning of the comeback but I can’t make that promise.  But hopefully getting this out will help me get motivated to start writing again.

Before I start this post I want to state again I am not a theologian or a scholar.  I’m just me, reflecting back on what I have heard on Sunday mornings and how that relates to food.  This happens surprisingly often.  My thoughts around this have been whirling in my head and I’m hoping I can get some clarification by putting pen to paper.

A couple of weeks ago we were talking about worship at church and there were a ton of amazing ideas thrown out there. And of course food was involved and parallels drawn to food.

As we do in church, I think it’s wise to start with scripture.  Today we are looking in a few different places.  We’ll start with something sweet,  Exodus 16:31, just because I like the physical description of manna.  The people of Israel called the bread manna.   It was white like coriander seed and tasted like wafers made with honey.  The food blogger in me just loves this.  I have nothing to compare this to but I like to think it would be a little like eating bread and honey.  This sounds delicious to me.

bread-and-honey

Ok, now that’s out of the way let’s get down to more serious matters.  Let’s start with John 6:35. Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.  Now let’s go back to Exodus 16, verses 17&18.  The Israelites did as they were told; some gathered much, some little. 18 And when they measured it by the omer, the one who gathered much did not have too much, and the one who gathered little did not have too little. Everyone had gathered just as much as they needed.

So how does this all come together? I think what I really have been thinking about is how food is so much more, like other things in life.  I wrote this in my notes and it came from my friend Bob who was one of the speakers that day.  There’s more than taste and what we experience, it’s sustenance for our soul.

Take a look at those early days when the Israelites were wandering in the desert. God provided for them, He knew their needs.  Even though they didn’t always want to listen, just like us, we are human.  He gave them enough manna for the day, if people gathered too much it ended up being just enough and if they did not take enough, He gave them what they needed.  He carried them as He does us still to this day.  What that looks like for me may be different than what that is for you.  That’s the great thing, He knows us and our needs, we just need to trust in Him.

It may not be manna or bread but maybe something as simple as this, will I even make it through the day. And what do I need to get there?  How am I going to feed myself to get through the challenges.  And I’m not just talking about food but that’s important too.  What kind of situations am I going to put myself in to help those around me and myself?  What will I decide to feed on?  Garbage or nourishment?

What’s eating you? People use that phrase all the time, mostly when there is something wrong.  And you have to wonder what has happened to make that mood happen in the hours, days or even years previous?  What has that person been hungry for and feeding on?  But wouldn’t it be great if we could take a little bit of that what sustains us and let that eat away at the problems inside?  God can let that happen, He gives us our daily bread, something simple, to make that change.  All it sometimes takes is feeding on the simple goodness that is given to us from His hands.

bread

Finally, did you know that manna translated means, what is it?  I find that fascinating.  What is it that’s eating you?  Are you hungry?  Let Him give you more than taste but something that sustains you.   Wouldn’t it be something if what we fed on was something like happiness?  Life would sure look a lot different.

I don’t know if I have put this together quite right but I hope that I have started you thinking.  If you want to hear where all these thoughts started coming from take some time to listen to the sermon by clicking here.

I want to finish with this song as it has been on my heart a lot these past few weeks and I think it just ties it all together for me, as music often does.  Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

