British Grocer & Bakery Inc. – Calgary

*UPDATE – Dear friends, today is May 19, 2017 and I just found out that this hidden gem in Calgary is closing it’s retail store.  I am sad to bring you this news because I really appreciated what Shef was trying to do with this space.  However, if you enjoyed BGBYYC’s pies, pasties and sausage rolls you will still be able to find those at the Jolly Good Candy Store, located in McKenzie, at 24 High Street SE.*

Even though I am Canadian, because of my Scottish heritage I have been given the opportunity to try many British treats either through my family or with my trips to the UK.  My Mom, being born in Glasgow, had her favourites too.  She would often request a Fry’s Peppermint Cream Bar as these were her favourite, but me?  Well, I always seem to crave a bottle of Irn Bru and a packet of Prawn Cocktail Walkers Crisps.

I am always on the lookout in Calgary for these treats and due to our large community, there have been many spots throughout the years that sell British import items.

Recently a new shop opened in town, called the British Grocer & Bakery Inc., that can help me with all, and I do mean ALL, of my cravings.  To the point that it is dangerous.  They have everything and it is cheaper than most of the other shops out there.  The thing that is unique is that it has the grocery AND the bakery.

The bakery focuses on savoury and sweet making mostly pies, pasties, cookies and tarts but they do make a variety of other treats based on the season.  Most of the things are available to buy in the fridge or freezer but there is also a takeaway counter if you are there over the lunch hour and want a pasty to go with your bag of crisps.

There is also a small freezer with local meat products, like sausage and black pudding from Irvings Farm.  Even though most of the products in the grocery section are from the UK they do try to support local where they can.

What I really like about this place though is the sense of community.  They really want to provide a service and a product to us all, that is good value.  They even say the more we buy the cheaper the prices go.  They want to pass the savings on to the people who shop in their store.  So my Calgary people, get over there and start buying Curly Wurly’s and Cadbury chocolate so we can all get cheaper snacks!

Seriously though, the shop is a hidden gem.  It is a little off Blackfoot Trail in the Manchester Industrial area but it is not that hard to find.  The way is dotted with signs.  I often find myself going for a visit on Saturday mornings before I go pick up my produce for the week and will pick up some pasties or pies for the evening.  And yes a bottle of Irn Bru and and a packet of Walkers Crisps too.

British Grocer + Bakery
533 Manitou Rd SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 4C2, Canada
+1 403 245 0809


Hours
Monday – Friday: 9am – 5:30pm
Saturday: 10am – 5pm
Sunday: Closed

Leave a Reply

