What Dae Ye Ken? A Kindle in the Kitchen!

I’m a little late to the game but thanks to Netflix I have recently become enamored with the world of Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.  Usually I read a book first and then watch the onscreen version but not this time.  I have a holiday coming up and I’m looking forward to getting a start on reading this series when I am on my travels.

For you Outlander fans, you probably already know about the Outlander Kitchen Cookbook by Theresa Carle-Sanders.  I recently purchased this book on my new Kindle Paperwhite and have enjoyed delving further into Outlander through the kitchen.  Although I haven’t been reading too much.  At the beginning of each recipe is an excerpt from the books that inspired the recipe.  I’m trying not to read those because I don’t want to spoil my upcoming reading project.

So, how is it working with an e-reader for a cookbook instead of the actual book?  It’s amazing actually.  The only thing I don’t like is you don’t get a full appreciation of the artwork that comes when looking at a paper book with colour photos.  But that’s ok.  You still get the photos, they are just black and white.

One thing I like about cooking with the Kindle is the ease of bouncing back and forth in between pages.  No more flipping and looking for pages.  With the Outlander Kitchen book you can be reading a recipe and it references a technique you need to know at the front of the book.  But that is highlighted and you can click on the link and it will take you right to that section.  So easy!

I’m also a bit of a mess in the kitchen, especially when I’m baking because I like to use my hands.  Working with the Kindle means I can prop the recipe against the wall and it shines bright, with it’s no glare, high-resolution 300ppi display screen, back at me for simple reference. I don’t need to worry about turning pages with dough covered hands.

Another bonus of the Kindle, if you have limited space, is that you can store many books and cookbooks in one handy spot.  I understand that paper is sometimes better but that isn’t always an option. A Kindle offers an alternative.

And before I forget, one last thing.  If you like to make companion notes in your cookbooks with recipes, you can do that with the Kindle too.  Margin notes can be added then edited or deleted or even exported to your computer if needed.

So now that I have  Outlander Kitchen on my new Kindle Paperwhite the next step is to get the entire Outlander series.  That should keep me busy for a while.

But in the meantime, Theresa Carle-Sanders has been kind enough to let me share with you a recipe from Outlander Kitchen.  I have never made bannocks before so I wanted to try them.  It isn’t that much different from making my Grandma’s Cream Scones, these are just savoury and grainier.  I enjoyed my bannocks for both breakfast and supper.

Bannocks At Carfax Close

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour, plus additional

1 cup coarsely ground rolled oats

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 tablespoon sugar

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) cold butter

3/4 cup whole milk

1/2 cup yogurt

Method

Move a rack to the upper-middle rung and heat the oven to 400 F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine the flour, oats, baking powder, sugar and salt in a large bowl.  Grate in the butter and mix well.  In a separate bowl stir together the milk and yogurt.  Add to the dry ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon to make a slightly sticky dough.

Turn onto a floured counter and sprinkle with more flour.  Knead dough lightly five or six times, working in just enough additional flour so that dough is no longer sticky.

Pat or roll into an 8X8 square, about 1/2 inch thick.  Cut into twelve rectangles and arrange on the prepared baking pan.  Bake until just golden, 12 to 15 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes.

Serve warm or cold with butter, cheese or jam, or beside a bowl of Geillis’ Cullen Skink (or your favourite stew).

Keep in a covered container up to 3 days.

Makes 12.

I have been compensated for this post with various Amazon products, including a Kindle Parperwhite.  However, please note that all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

